Reviews

EXCELLENT
11 reviews on
David Burt
David Burt
2022-09-18
Malawi to Capetown ending 3 September 2022. What a great trip with 2 mates and guide Andrew who became a mate over that time. Well organised with a schedule that balanced travel needs and road/terrain variety with “touristy” activities on the spaced out rest days. It really was a pleasant surprise each day with high quality accommodation each night. Reviewing the photos makes me want to do it again or book another trip with Andrew through RDS.
Read more
Owen Holcombe
Owen Holcombe
2022-09-09
If anyone is interested in doing a motorcycle trip in Africa I highly recommend Ride Down South, and Andrew Vaughan, the owner and main guide. I've followed Andrew for over 18000 km on three rides, through ten African countries and hope to see a lot more. Andrew puts his heart and soul into every trip, ensuring that his guests are well and truly satisfied. His route selections are well matched to the capabilities of the riders, whilst still offering some challenges. His choices of accommodation are first class. It's a true getaway experience, your everyday worries will soon be forgotten as you focus on the road ahead.
Read more
Will Downie
Will Downie
2022-09-09
Rode from Lilongwe Malawi through Mozambique and South Africa to Cape Town with Andrew Vaughan. 24 days, over 6,000km of fantastic riding with plenty of variety. Andrew is a great tour leader, well organized & made sure everyone was OK at all times. Fantastic scenery and wonderful experience. Highly recommend.
Read more
Ted Abraham
Ted Abraham
2022-03-21
Best trip ever... I did a two week tour from Cape Town to Windhoek with Andrew and Ride Down South. It was possibly the most memorable trip of my life. The riding itself a blast, the landscape was like nothing I have ever seen and logistically the trip went off without a hitch. Andy is both a highly experienced guide who knows the region well and a friendly laid back travel partner who makes long days on the road a pleasure... I went into the trip a bit concerned about my riding level (specifically on gravel roads) but Andy never put me in situations I couldn’t handle and was very patient when I did have questions/concerns. I never felt pressured or rushed… Last point, Andrew offers fantastic value. His prices are among the lowest of the motorcycle outfitters in South Africa/Namibia and he is honest and transparent. I would highly recommend that anyone interested in doing a motorcycle tour to plan their trip directly with Andy/Ride Down South. There is no need for middle men as he personally owns the bikes you ride and plans/executes the tours himself. FIVE STARS
Read more
Dan Callear
Dan Callear
2022-03-16
I recently did a 14 day Cape Town to Windhoek, Namibia trip with Ride Down South and it was honestly one of the best adventures I've done. Andy is a great guide, a very chilled character that makes the whole experience enjoyable, and confidence inspiring, especially riding on gravel and sand for the first time. The level of accommodation was spot on, the bike made easy work of the circa 3000km and everything felt well organised and safe. I'll definitely be doing another trip with Andy in the future!
Read more
Adam
Adam
2022-02-21
Cape to Kruger trip was one of the best experiences of my life
Read more
Owen Holcombe
Owen Holcombe
2020-02-16
Helen Powell
Helen Powell
2019-09-17
My husband and I took a one day trip around the Cape Peninsula on a classic Honda Africa Twin. It was an incredible day, with plenty of stops at amazing view points including the Cape of Good Hope. Andrew was a great guide - he helped us find whales in the bay near Simon's Town, told us loads of interesting info about the area and was generally good fun to hang out with. The bike was spot on and we enjoyed it so much, my husband is considering buying one. We'd love to return sometime and take one of the longer trips!
Read more
David Chaplin
David Chaplin
2019-01-17
We just recently did a 3 day tour organised and led by Andrew and had greatest time. Andrew's knowledge of the region, the places, the geography and the roads made for such an enjoyable trip. I highly recommend a tour with Andrew to everyone and we hope to get back to SA in the not too distant future to do another trip with him!
Read more

We've made some good friends on our two-wheeled African adventures. Read what they have to say here or click on the Tripadvisor link to see our reviews there.

As a long time tour organiser and operator, this was actually the first time I’ve ever gone on a tour as a customer and you far exceeded my expectations. It wasn’t just the riding or the bikes, it was the whole package, the choices of accommodation, the great meals but above all the enthusiasm and willingness to go that extra mile (or 100 km) that shone through in you and your team.

Owen, Cambodia

I just rode from Victoria Falls to Cape Town with Ride Down South and couldn't be happier. Andrew and Greg aren't just great guides, they're also just really great people -- a joy to ride with and also a joy to hang out with. They ran my 22 day tour without a hitch and made sure we stopped at all the best secret spots. And the bikes we rode for absolutely perfect for the trip. Africa Twin! I'm a fan for life. When I booked this motorcycle trip I wanted the trip of a lifetime. I got it and then some. Wow. What an experience!

Will, San Francisco

Thank you Andrew for an amazing experience.
I can't imagine going with anyone else on a trip like we did.
You listened to our needs and crafted a tour to suit our group of 4 west coast Canadians and 1 American. You gave great leadership and service all the way.
The African people were truly amazing with their friendly and helpful manner, it is an easy place to feel safe and comfortable in.
Ending the tour in Victoria Falls was a perfect finale to an amazing trip, on which, we saw and experienced so much. My skills and confidence grew and I am a much better rider now, than when I started.


Thank you Andrew for the great job and I will refer others to you without hesitation. I hope to get back to Africa to ride a few dirt roads with you again. Truly, Brian.

Brian Henry, Vancouver

Recently, a brief telephone conversation resulted in an unforgettable four days of biking through breath-takingly beautiful scenery and daily excursions which left us wishing that we’d booked double the time. We had considered navigating the trip ourselves and are so glad we didn’t. We would have missed out on so many personal insights, hidden gems and juicy tit-bits of local folklore.
Andrew custom-built our trip to suit our timeframe, riding and sight-seeing preferences, bending over backwards in ensuring our every expectation was met. We asked for a “mixed bag” regarding the ride itself and were certainly not disappointed! We were awe-struck by the scenic routes; delighted by the comfort and quaintness of the hand-picked accommodations and thoroughly enjoyed Andrew’s professional, yet personable guidance through landscapes clearly dear to his heart. We cannot speak more highly of him as a knowledgeable, experienced guide and gracious host. In saying good-bye, we felt a little bereft and are already eagerly planning our next trip.

Laura, Saudi Arabia